Back with a new health mindset….

Image

WOW, it has been a long time since I have posted here! And soooo sooo much has happened between now and the 25th of November 2011.

Going by my last post,  I never reached the goal that I wanted to by the time I went to Mauritius, but I was quite content with where I was nevertheless. I believe, from memory, I left Australia @ 72kgs and came back to Australia at around 73kgs 5 weeks later! That’s pretty dam good, if I may say so myself! Whilst I was in Mauritius, I woke up early everyday to workout for at least 20-30mins a day, followed by 10mins meditation down in my cousin’s basement gym. Although I mostly ate what I wanted too, the exercise helped to counteract that fact 🙂

By the end of our 4 weeks in Mauritius, I had enough of rice, noodles and bread! Ate so much of it, especially in the last week – where we were being invited to everyone’s house, left, right and centre! As much as we appreciated it all and of course it was all delicious. But by the time we returned, we were on a staple diet of nothing but meat/chicken/fish and vegies/salad.

Since being back from overseas, my primary focus was then shifted to having my aneurysm surgery. And because of pure laziness of not wanting to type about this all over again, here are links to my WW blog where I had shared about this in order from the beginning to making the decision to have surgery.

http://community.weightwatchers.com.au/Blogs/ViewPost.aspx?threadID=1020810 

http://community.weightwatchers.com.au/Blogs/ViewPost.aspx?threadID=1020809 

http://community.weightwatchers.com.au/Blogs/UserBlog.aspx?blogid=1002789

So after surgery, it did of course take some time to recover. The doctor had given me at least a week to recover, but I gave myself 3-4 weeks to ensure that I was totally recovered before going back to any form of exercise. Although in the meantime, I did suffer from a couple of infections from the catheter, which required for me to be on more medication for at least 5 days. Now almost 10 weeks after surgery, I am happy to report that I am physically great! 

The only good thing about recovering from surgery was that it was a kind of forced detox from things that I indulge way too much in, which is alcohol, going out and food. With the infections that I got, I had to abstain from any foods that contained wheat or yeast – do you know how hard that is? For a person like me who has been so accustomed to eating things from a packet or box for most of my life. This has been a major life change and eye opener. Funny enough, it’s something that I had an infection whilst breastfeeding my daughter – so it wasn’t too foreign, but still a massive challenge!

The last time I had indulged in alcohol was on my birthday on the 29th of January – for almost two months, NOTHING 🙂  I was so proud of myself, until I was invited to a friend’s birthday about 4 weeks ago, and then started the cycle of alcohol and going out all over again! It’s so easy to fall into this again after doing it before for so long. Last weekend was the last time I went out with a friend, my sister and cousin to a local club and again over indulged in alcohol. So much so, that I was ill for the weekend and that was enough to put me off again for a long time.

Before the weekend, I had already psyched myself and planned on a detox/fast for 30 days. So if anything, that weekend pushed me to do it even more. I knew that it was going to hurt! That it wasn’t going to be pretty or easy. I was also in an emotional state after the weekend, so that with what I allowed in my body called for a major detox. Although the reason why I wanted to do this detox/fast is because it is something that I have been doing at least once or twice a year for the last 3 years and mainly to detox from all the medications that was pumped into my body after the surgery, as well as the aspirin that I had to take for 6 weeks after the surgery. I don’t feel right having all these in my body for so long – yeah, I know, I know – then I put alcohol in my body most weekends….which is a habit that I need to change as well, but I know that I need to do it slowly because depriving is not the answer. At the moment, the important thing is to rid my body of most of the toxins that has been purposely put into it in the last 10 weeks!

I will end this post here and start another with my motivation and inspiration for my new healthy path…..

Leave a Reply

